Cincinnati Public Radio to be honored for longtime commitment to literacy

For many years, Cincinnati Public Radio (WVXU/WMUB) has shown a steadfast commitment to celebrating the importance and pleasure of reading. Book lovers regularly tune in to listen to entertaining and in-depth interviews with local and national authors — even entire shows about reading, such as the locally produced “The Book Club @91.7.” 

Cincinnati Public Radio’s dedication to the literary community to be honored at Ohioana 2016, a special event sponsored by the Ohioana Library Association and presented by the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County.

The annual event, designed to celebrate the rich heritage of local authors, is 1:30 p.m. Sunday, April 17, in the Main Library Reading Garden Lounge, 800 Vine St., downtown Cincinnati.

The event features dozens of Hamilton County authors, most of whom have published books within the past year. Readers can meet authors, buy books, and get them signed as part of the afternoon celebration. Some of the authors attending include Leah Stewart, Jeff Suess, Jeffrey Ebbeler, Reba Riley, John Kachuba, Richard O Jones, Jasmine Warga, Dann Woellert, and many more.

Mark Perzel, a popular host on Cincinnati Public Radio, is accepting Ohioana 2016’s Cooper Award on his organization’s behalf and speaking at the event. The Cooper Award was created in 2003 and named for the founding family of Ohioana. It is given to an individual or organization that has made outstanding contributions to the promotion of books and reading in Hamilton County. Past winners include Will Hillenbrand, Writer’s Digest, and the Mercantile Library of Cincinnati.

The Ohioana event is free and open to the public. For details, call 513-369-6919.

About Ohioana

The Ohioana Library Association was founded in 1929 to collect, preserve and promote the written work of Ohio’s authors, artists and musicians. Visit