Connect with Community at the LGBTQIA+ Book Club

Written by Michelle Thompson, Library Customer Specialist, Walnut Hills Branch Library and Krystie Salyers, Reference Librarian, Downtown Main Library

A new book club is starting this January featuring a wide range of new and classic queer books, from speculative fiction to memoir to romance to historical fiction to gothic horror to western! Each book features prominent LGBTQIA+ and BIPOC representation.

Meeting the third Thursday of every month in 2023, opens a new window at the newly-renovated and expanded Walnut Hills Branch, readers will have the chance to connect with community, learn from others, and share related experiences.

It’s highly encouraged to read the book before the discussion; however, you are welcome to attend even if you haven’t finished the book. And new members are always welcome throughout the year!

Don’t Cry for Me by Daniel Black

Please join us for the LGBTQIA+ Book Club’s first meeting on Thursday, Jan. 19 at 7 p.m. at the Walnut Hills Branch Library. We will be discussing the novel Don’t Cry for Me by Daniel Black.

Don't Cry for Me

A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates, Robert Jones Jr. and Alice Walker

LGBTQIA+ Book Club 2023 Schedule

For Minds of All Kinds

The LGBTQIA+ Book Club is an initiative of CHPL’s LGBTQIA+ Staff Work Group. Composed of staff across CHPL, the work group provides safe, welcoming spaces for customers of all ages, uplifts them in their LGBTQIA+ identities, and provides events, activities, and resources throughout the entire calendar year.

Last year, in addition to Pride Month celebrations in June, we hosted events such as the Trans Advocacy Council of Cincinnati’s Trans Day of Visibility, our first annual LGBTQIA+ health and wellbeing event, Lemonade on the Lawn, presented InsideOut Trans Self-Portraits Workshops featuring Jay DeFazio, hosted New York Times bestselling, Eisner, and GLAAD Media Award–winning comic book script writer Grace Ellis, and participated in October’s Queer History Month.

Find local, regional, & online LGBTQIA+ resources curated by library staff, and upcoming LGBTQIA+ Book Club dates, on our LGBTQIA+ Resources page.

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library